logo_klein

MUSEUM ASSOCIATION 


Located in the heart of Austria, in Hochsteiermark, the Styrian Iron Road with its length of approximately 100 kilometres offers an exciting time travel through past and present of mining and the converting process of iron and steel.


Over 10 years ago the decision was made to unite 12 museums along the Iron Road and built an alliance. This idea turned out to be very constructive and successful during the last years and directed – thanks to subsidies of EU means – to extensive modernisations in the museums. These networks lead to a quality intensification in the attending museums and museum-like facilities. The co-marketing comprises events like „Museum sehen“, strengthening the image of the museums and bringing the interesting montane historic past closer to the visitors. The idea of networking will play an important role in the upcoming years. Behind the scenes we are working on common projects aiming comprehensive synopsis.

In questions of museum educational services the Museum Association and the Tourism Association Hochsteiermark have become important partners. Continuously new offers for school classes , making a visit of the Styrian Iron Road to a great and unforgettable adventure, are developed.

Today we can look back to exciting years, in which all museums of the association have taken position. The hope remains that the coming years are characterised of boundless energy and engagement. Nationwide the Museum Association Styrian Iron Road is seen as a showcase project. This is confirmed by the integration in many transnational projects.

For the next years the Museum Association is aiming to develop the museums along the Styrian Iron Road together with the persons in charge to offer locals and guests an attractive and interesting choice.

JOURNEY 


MUSEUMCENTER 


On more than 1200m² the MuseumCenter Leoben provides an insight into 2000 years of city- and montane history of the region of the Styrian Erzberg. Since generations Leoben is affected by the Montanist past, offers international flair today and is a prosperous centre of the steel industry and the capital city of Hochsteiermark.


Museumcenter Focused on the topic „Rails into the past“ the visitor can go on a journey from the present back into the past in the modernly equipped Museumscenter. The MuseumsCenter offers a clear architectural structure, a symbiosis of the historical walls of the former Jesuits monastary and the architecture of the 20th Century. New Media and unique objects make the visit to a special event. Handcraft and trade, the social- and economical history and early history, only to name single topics merging the city and making it alive. To complete the programme, workshops for children and teenagers are offered.


Museumcenter indoor

 
CONTACT

MuseumCenter Leoben
8700 Leoben, Kirchgasse 6
Tel.: 03842/40 62-408
Fax: 03842/40 62-410
kunsthalle@leoben.at
www.museumscenter-leoben.at


OPENING HOURS:

Tue. – Sat. 10:00hrs – 17:00hrs,
Sunday und Monday closed.
Guided tours by arrangement.


ADMISSION CHARGE:

Adults € 5,–
Senior citizen € 4,–
Students € 3,–
Family ticket € 11,–
Further prices upon request.


Logo Styriacard


KUNSTHALLE LEOBEN 

Wiki

BREWERY MUSEUM – GÖSSEUM 


With the slogan „Tradition meets Innovation“the Brewery Museum Göss offers an adventurous journey through the time. Brewing beer has a long tradition in Göss.


Walze What is it that makes Austria's best beer unique, how Gösser became to one of the largest brands offer the last decades and how Gösser beer is actually brewed, can be explored at the brewery museum Göss.. Since 2014 the museum convinces with interactive attractions, making a visit to a fascinating experience. Together with technical and creative experts of the Ars Electronica Futurelab Linz the brewery museum was enlarged by new attractions and edited interactively. The history of Austria's best beer becomes alive and a unique experience for the visitor.


Goesseum Luftansicht

CONTACT

BREWERY MUSEUM – Gösseum
8700 Leoben, Brauhausgasse 1
Tel.: 03842/20 90-58 02
Fax: 03842/20 90-58 10
braumuseum@goesser.com
goesseum@goesser.at


OPENING HOURS:

April to October
weekends and holidays 11:00hrs – 15:00hrs,
yearlong by arrangement

Groups (from 6 persons):
Yearlong by arrangement.
On working days combination with brewery inspection possible.


ADMISSION CHARGE:

Adults € 10,50
Group price € 9,50
Students, senior citizens € 7,50
Group price € 7,–
Further prices upon request.

METALLURGY MUSEUM DONAWITZ 


The industrial development of Styria is closely connected to the history of the production and processing of steel. The centrepiece of this huge tradition is the steel factory Donawitz.


Metallurgiemuseum innen How in Donawitz was made history, the visitors can experience in a unique exhibition at the metallurgy museum Donawitz. Interesting exhibits from the working area of the steel makers, work models, historical documents, movies and photos, old tools to modern compact LD steel works as well as the most modern rail- and wire mill in the world give you an informative and diversified impression. Furthermore the exhibition offers particular events of the day. The exhibition was opened in 2002 and continued in 2004 as „Metallurgy Museum Donawitz“on the initiative of the history club ALPINE, still taking care of the collection of the museum as research centre.

The redesign of the metallurgy museum. At the new location in the Kerpelystraße, the the history club can be visited every Tuesday between 16.00 and 20.00hrs.


neues Ausstellungs-Gebäude

CONTACT

METALLURGY MUSEUM DONAWITZ
8700 Leoben, Kerpelystraße 177
Tel.: 050304/25-22 61 oder -42 74
Fax: 050304/65-42 80
geschichteclub@voestalpine.comoder
adelheid.maxl@voestalpine.com
www.geschichteclubalpine.at


OPENING HOURS:

Tuesday 16:00hrs – 20:00hrs and by arrangement


ADMISSION CHARGE:

free entrance

MUSEUM OF THE MONTAN UNIVERSITY LEOBEN 


For the continuous development of the Montan University (since 1975) – previously an educational establishment, a Mining Academy and an Institute of Technology - a large number of visual aids were needed.


Modell Bessemer Birne Everything still available has been gathered and collected since 2007 and examined by the museums officer. Objects of Mining Engineering and metallurgical industry, the subject’s chemistry, electrical engineering and physics could be ensured. Completely preserved is the collection of mine surveying. The former library director Sika has gathered a very fine collection. This can be admired all together with valuable books, photos and manuscripts (i.e. the first educational book of Peter Tunner) The approximately 90 m2 "small" museum represents a historical documentation of mining sciences and is a treasure of university research and teaching of the last 170 years.

 
CONTACT

MMUSEUM OF THE MONTAN UNIVERSITY LEOBEN
8700 Leoben, Peter Tunner Strasse 15
Tel.: +43 (0)3842/402 78 01
univbibl@unileoben.ac.at
www.bibliothek.unileoben.ac.at


OPENING HOURS:

by arrangement


ADMISSION CHARGE:

free entrance

TYPICAL


04.21.–11.25.2017


 

CITY MUSEUM TROFAIACH 


The museum Trofaiach at Schloss Stibichhofen is located directly in the city centre. Historical costumes of the area around the Styrian Erzberg from the folcloristic collection of the trader Franz Hofer are in the main focus.


A special feature of folk medicine is the original pharmacy furniture of Trofaiach from the year 1904. A further treasure is the medical equipment from the estate of the famous pest doctor Adam von Lebenwald and the doctor Dr. Schlömmer (19th century).The museum also accommodates remarkable archaeological artifacts of the pre- and protohistory i.e the corpus of finds of the hill-top settlement Kulm near Trofaiach from 800 B.C. A part of the museum is the exhibition centre at Museumsdepot. The focal point is the storage facility and the extensive library comprising topics like Trofaiach and the Iron Road, historical costumes, old traditions and literature on the subject of Styria.


Kleidung

 
CONTACT

CITY MUSEUM TROFAIACH
8793 Trofaiach, Rebenburggasse 2a
Tel.: +43 (0) 699/1300 52 02
wolfgang.slamnig@museum-trofaiach.at
www.trofaiach.at


OPENING HOURS:

April to November
Wed. und Sat. 10:00 – 12:00hrs and 15:00 – 17.00hrs or by agreement
Storage Facility: yearlong, guided tours by agreement


ADMISSION CHARGE:

Adults € 3,–
Groups from 15 pax € 1,–
Students up to 15 years free entrance

„Kitchen and cellar“
The development of cooking and eating habits.


04.04.2016 – 31.10.2017

MUSEUM COURTYARD KAMMERN


The museum courtyard Kammern bears witness to an over 200 year old agricultural history and presents the life of coal mining and agriculture.


Museum Kammern innen In the 125 year old and due to its architectonical contruction remarkable barn large objects are exposed, i.e. treshing machines, different scythes, sickles and flails and hay-, milk-, and coal cribs. The equipment is embedded in a breathtaking building of glass and wood. The visitors do not only learn about the exhibited machines, but also about the people behind it, their lives and their work. All about the history of the population of Kammern can be seen in the adjoining building, the Steinrisserhaus. Here you can be delivered insight into the development of Kammern and shows its important role in the production of raw materials. The museum courtyard is completed with an exhibition of 500 million years of Earth history. 500 fossils reflect the development of life, our evolution, on our planet.



Museum Kammern innen

CONTACT

MUSEUM COURTYARD KAMMERN
8773 Kammern im Liesingtal, Marktplatz
Tel.: 03844/80 20-0 oder +43 (0) 664/5051931
marktgemeinde@kammern.net
www.museumshof-kammern.at


OPENING HOURS:

May 1 – October 31 2017,
Thursday to Sunday:
10:00 – 12:00hrs, 14:00 – 17:00hrs
Group tours by arrangement


ADMISSION CHARGE:

Adults: € 4,–
Groups (from 10 pax) € 3,– p.P.
Senior citizens € 3,–
Children (aged 6-16) € 2,–
School classes € 1,– p.P.

FURNACE MUSEUM RADWERK IV VORDERNBERG


The Radwerk IV – a monumental building from the 19th Century – is the only preserved and totally equipped charcoal furnace and therefore a main industrial memorial.


Radwerk innen Soon after the closedown in 1911 the Radwerk (water wheel) was declared a historic monument and in 1959 it became a museum. Here the development of the exploitation of iron, the mining methods at Erzberg and the ore mining systems to Vordernberg are connected to an impressing experience. The production process from ore to iron in former times are described clearly during a walk through the huge rooms, built around the furnace on four floors. You can take a look insight the tremendous oven and have a feeling for the effusion and the solidification of iron ore in the tapping hall. The big water wheel, powering the air blower for the combustion air and name giver of the ironwork, will be demonstrated. The current steel production will be shown in the multi media presentation FERRUM MAGNIFICUM.


CONTACT

FURNACE MUSEUM RADWERK IV
8794 Vordernberg, Peter-Tunner Straße 2
Tel.: 0664/734 91 994
Fax: 03842/20 90-58 10
radwerk4@a1.net
www.radwerk-vordernberg.at


OPENING HOURS:

guided tours daily, yearlong by arrangement
Mai – October: Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Holiday
guided tour: 14.00hrs
Inspection only possible in guided tour (duration approx. 1,5 hours)


ADMISSION CHARGE:

Adults € 6,–
Flat-rate (1-3 pax and families up to 4 pax): € 18,–
School classes € 4,– p.P.
Barrier-free accessible.

ADVENTURE ERZBERG


The Styrian Erzberg is unique on our planet, and it belongs to the TOP 5 tourist destinations in Styria. Its incredible shape on the surface, the exciting and interesting underground tour in the Show Mine, as well as the adventurous trip with the biggest yellow cab of the world, the 860 HP powered Hauly, is definitely taking your breath away.The Profitcenter Abenteuer Erzberg lets visitors from all around the world experience authentic ore mining firsthand, thereby uniting history and presence, as well as showing future prospects. Guests are able to explore modern open-pit mining, thus getting insights into the every-day lives of the miners.


For visitors the adventure „Abenteuer Erzberg“ starts in the entrance hall of the “Talstation”, a historical building. It is the starting point for an incredible trip into the biggest open-pit mining area of Central Europe. Even when entering the hall, people can see the very fast development in mining: the “Talstation” was the bottom station of an inclined elevator, called “Hugo-Stinnes-Aufzug”, which took thousands of miners to their workplace or to their houses on the Erzberg, and which also took visitors to the top station “Berghaus” (1,220 meters above sea-level) from 1924 to 1965, when the inclined elevator eventually was shut down. The bottom station was later rebuilt to meet touristic requirements, but without losing its former functional shape. Modernized and adapted for tourism, the building serves as reception hall today. This reception hall has several offers for guests: in the “Haulyrestaurant” delicious meals and drinks are served, the “Haulyshop” offers numerous souvenirs, and the “Vernissage Erzberg” by Dr. August Zöbl can be gazed at without charge. Additionally, souvenir pictures of the guests are taken which can be purchased.


Hauly Adventure Trip


Hauly Visitors go up the level of the Erzberg by the most powerful and biggest yellow cab of the world – the so-called “Hauly” – which is a modified 860-HP dumper with seats and a viewing platform. During the one-hour trip visitors are able to watch dumpers and wheel loaders in operation, thereby experiencing modern open-pit mining at its best. Furthermore, visitors get interesting facts about open-pit mining and the work of the miners, and they get to know the landscape and regional culture of the area, and they pass important checkpoints of the Erzbergrodeo.



LIVE-BLAST


Sprengung On Thursdays visitors get the opportunity to experience mining extremely close, as they are directly taken to the place by the Hauly, where they can watch a real live blast. There they can see how about 60.000 tons of ore and stone are blasted out of the solid mountain. The blast-foreman is happy to answer all of the visitor’s questions. As a souvenir all the guests get a written report of the blast which includes detailed facts and figures. (Abenteuer Erzberg strongly recommends making a reservation for this trip as the demand is very high and there is limited space.)


Schaubergwerk – Show Mine


Under the surface of the Erzberg there lies a hidden maze of tunnels that wants to be explored. The Show Mine trip offers interesting insights into the tough working conditions underground from the Middle Ages to the 20th century. Furthermore, visitors can see and hear how this unique mountain developed geologically, and an old miner tells them the ancient legend of the mystical creature “Wassermann”. But there are several other highlights in the Show Mine: guests are eyewitnesses of an audiovisual dynamite blast, and children – as well as adults – can try out some of the miners’ old tools and machines.


Schaubergwerk

 
CONTACT

ADVENTURE ERZBERG
8790 Eisenerz, Erzberg 1
Tel.: 03848/32 00
Fax: 03842/20 90-58 10
info@abenteuer-erzberg.at
www.abenteuer-erzberg.at


OPENING HOURS:

May 01 – October 31:
Daily 10:00 – 15:00hrs,
Advance reservation recommended.
All guided tours are in German, English guided tours are possible by arrangement.


ADMISSION CHARGE:

Combined tickets 2017
Hauly+Showmine – Duration approx. 2,5hours
Adults € 30,–
Children (aged 4-6) € 13,50
Pupils (aged 7-15) ) € 14,50
Groups (from 25 pax) € 27,– p.P.
Further information at the website.

MUSEUM OLD TOWN HALL EISENERZ


During a visit of the museum in Eisenerz you will feel sent back in time to the heyday of ore mining of the 16th century.


Besucher Museum The representative councillor hall of 1583 and the former carcer bring out this part of history and all its facettes. During a walk through the three floors of the old town hall the rich past of Eisenerz becomes alive. The main topic is the changeful relationship between the Styrian Erzberg and the city of Eisenerz. Unique items like valuable aragonites and minerals, the Wunderstufe and other rarities of the mining and historical culture, like the puppet theatre of Tendler, demonstrate this relationship very clearly. Supported by movies you will get a comprehensive idea of the development of the city where history was in the making.

 
CONTACT

Management: Dr. Sigrid Günher
MUSEUM OLD TOWN HALL
8790 Eisenerz, Bergmannplatz 1
Tel.: 03848/36 15
Fax: 03848/35 15 12
museum@eisenerz.at
www.eisenerz.at


OPENING HOURS:

May 01 – October 31:
Tue – Sun 10:00 – 16:00hrs
or by arrangement.


ADMISSION CHARGE:

Adults € 5,50
Pupils and Students € 3,–
for guided tours additional € 1,50 p.P.
discount (-10%) for senior citizens and groups

AUSTRIAN POST- AND
TELEGRAPHY MUSEUM


The Austrian post and telegraph museum has been accommodated in the historical rooms of a former hunting lodge of Kaiser Franz Josef I. since 2012.


Australia Post Not only stamp collectors and friends of the postal history, also all kinds of cultural interested parties get their's money's worth. The museum conveys, realistic and interactive, the development of the post- and telegraph system from the imperial age to today. Numerous originals, such as an accessible and walkable stagecoach, an original k.k. Post office from the 19th century, posthistorical documents, mailboxes from all over the world and much more get the visitors to past times. At the children's post office our younger museum visitors could actively deal with letters and telephones and so they can understand what life was far away from internet and mobile phones. In the nostalgic post-cinema films document the history of the Austrian postal- and telegraph system over the last 100 years. Always changing special exhibitions all around the history of communication and the social developments complete the exhibition offer.


Exhibitions

CONTACT

AUSTRIAN POST- AND TELEGRAPHY MUSEUM
8790 Eisenerz, Schulstraße 1
Tel.: 0664/48 70 222
obmann@postmuseum.at
www.postmuseum.at


OPENING HOURS:

April 27 – October 28 2017
Tue. – Sat. 10:00 – 12:00hrs, 14:00 bis 17:00 hrs
Führungen und Besichtigungen außerhalb der Öffnungszeiten nach telefonischer Vereinbarung


ADMISSION CHARGE:

Adults € 6,–
Children € 3,–
Families (2 AD + max. 3 CH) € 15,–
Guided Tours (Children free) € 3,– p.P.
Groups (from 10 pax):
Adults € 4,–
Children € 2,–
Guided Tours Groups (Children free) € 2,– p.P.

COPPER SHOWMINE RADMER


In Radmer, copper ore was already extracted during the Bronze Age, 3000 years ago. From 1547 to 1855 in Hinterradmer copper mining was operated, counting during its heyday to one of the four most important mines in the Alps.


Stiege Stollen Altogether at 60 mining excavations up to 700 minors were employed with copper ore winning. In 1996 some mining fans stared to reactivate the „Alten Paradeisstollen“, which was shutdown in 1800. Countless hours of work of volunteers were needed to extract 3000t of rocks without the usage of machines. Additionally a second exit has to be built due to safety reasons. A wide gallery consisting of routes, tunnels and excavations in its nativeness was opened to the public. Many visitors think it is one of the most beautiful showmines in Austria. For eight visitors an own tour guide is provided and a very personal experience is guaranteed. A special highlight is a ride with the smallest tunnel train of Austria.



CONTACT

Kupferschaubergwerk Radmer
8795 Radmer, Radmer 36
Tel.: 03635/200 30
info@kupferschaubergwerk.at
www.kupferschaubergwerk.at


OPENING HOURS:

spring to onset of winter,
daily 09.00 – 18.00hrs by arrangement
tour guide can be reached short term


ADMISSION CHARGE:

Adults € 11,–
Pupils (from 6 years) € 6,–
School classes € 5,– pax
Groups € 9,– pax

HOCHQUELLENWASSER WILDALPEN


The museum HochQuellenWasser located in the noble Hammerherrenhaus of the 17th century informs about the construction and history of the second mountain spring pipeline and the water supply of Vienna. It also delivers insight into main aspects of the geology and spring protection.


Kinder Schautafel These subjects are presented in a multemedia-based and interactive way. The museum of local history mainly deals with the Innerberger Hauptgewerkschaft, a trade union managing a considerable charcoal production for the iron industry in Wildalpen between 1625 and 1838.


Goldene Urkunde Zuschauer 3D Brille Familie Modell Gesteinsbohrmaschine

 
CONTACT

HochQuellenWasser Wildalpen
8924 Wildalpen, Säusenbach 14
Tel.: 03636/451-318 71
Fax: 03636/451-47 26 49
museum.wal@ma31.wien.gv.at
www.wasserleitungsmuseum.at
The museum is barrier-free accessible.


OPENING HOURS:

May 01, - October 26:
Mon – Fri 10:00 – 12:00hrs and 13:00 – 15:00hrs,
Sun- and Holidays 10:00 – 12:00hrs
Saturday on request
Guided tours for groups (from 10 persons) by arrangement


ADMISSION CHARGE:

Adults € 3,–
Pupils (max. 15 years) € 1,50
Children up to 6 years free of charge
Tour guide fee per group € 18,–

MONTANE- AND FOUNDRY MUSEUM 
GUSSWERK 


At the town hall of the former k.k. ironwork in Gusswerk,in 1998 was installed a museum accommodating besides exhibits of the Montanist historical past also a representative collection of cast iron pieces.


Madonna In the 17th century an iron foundry was located in Gusswerk, famous for its production of cannon, naval gunnery, machine parts but also for commodities after its development in 1742. In the museum there can also be seen a show foundry, where commodities are produced following ancient techniques.



Münze

 
CONTACT

MONTANE- AND FOUNDRY MUSEUM GUSSWERK
8632 Gußwerk, Bahnhofstraße 7
Tel.: und Fax: 03882/26 36
chairman Richard Pichler: +43 (0) 664/320 92 18
montanmuseum@sbm-web.at
www.kunstguss-gusswerk.at


OPENING HOURS:

by arrangement


ADMISSION CHARGE:

Adults € 4,–
Students € 3,–
Groups (from 20 pax) € 3,50 pax

EVENTS 

05.05. -
30.09.2018
LEoBENSPICTURES, -TRACES
Experience the biography of Leoben

MUSEUMCENTER LEOBEN
www.museumscenter-leoben.at

MUSEUM ASSOCIATION 
BETRIEBS Ges.m.b.H. 



Mag. Susanne Leitner-Böchzelt
Management


Margit Brenkusch
Office
8700 Leoben | Kirchgasse 6
T.: 03842/40 62 442
F: 03842/40 62 410
kunsthalle@leoben.at


Google Maps Icon    fb_logo

PARTNER 


Hochsteiermark Museum Joanneum Eisenstrasse Hochsteiermark Kastner & Partner